Study Permits for Foreign Students

The Department of Home Affairs issues permits for foreign nationals to study in South Africa. Study permits are issued for two main types of immigrants:

  • Stand-alone immigrants who wish to continue their studies in South Africa, for example at universities.
  • Students who are accompanying their families during immigration to South Africa.

The attached documents outline the steps involved in applying for a study permit, and what may be required of an independent school as part of the process.

Study Permits Foreign Students
ISASA Policy FAQs Oct 2017