Termination of the National State of Disaster

On Monday, 4 April 2022, President Cyril Ramaphosa formally declared the end of the National State of Disaster, which was instituted on 15 March 2020, to regulate the COVID-19 pandemic.

What this means is that all Regulations and Directions made in terms of the Disaster Management Act 57 of 2002 were repealed with immediate effect, with the exception of a few transitional measures.

The ISASA Legal and Policy Department has compiled a memorandum to highlight the transitional measures applicable for the next 30 days until the new National Health Regulations are published to manage the pandemic. The memo is available for download below.

Termination State of Disaster