Revised Directions for the Reopening of Schools

On 23 June 2020, the Minister of Basic Education issued new directions in terms of the Disaster Management Act 57 of 2002 regarding the reopening of schools and related matters.

The Directions withdraw and replace the previous directions of 29 May 2020 (as amended on 1 June 2020). They apply to all schools as defined in the South African Schools Act 84 of 1996, including independent schools, though some provisions are circumscribed as applying to public schools only.

The Directions also provide greater specificity regarding the health and safety requirements to be followed by all schools and incorporate the Department of Basic Education’s (DBE) Guidelines on Maintaining Hygiene during the COVID-19 Pandemic and Standard Operating Procedures.

The new directions, Hygiene Guidelines and Standard Operating Procedures are available for download below.

Education Directions 23 June
DBE Guidelines Hygiene

ISASA has also compiled an explanatory memorandum for member schools:

Reopening Schools 24 June