The World Health Organization (WHO) regularly reviews public health threats around the world. At present, the WHO has no travel or trade restrictions recommended for West African countries affected by Ebola.

Ebola continues to be transmitted in these countries:

  • Guinea
  • Liberia
  • Sierra Leone

Countries at potential risk for Ebola transmission (lower transmission risk):

  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Nigeria

On 20 October 2014, Nigeria was declared free of Ebola virus transmission by the WHO.

The risk of infection for travellers to South Africa is very low, even if the traveller visited areas from which primary cases have been reported.

Download the full memorandum prepared by ISASA:

ISASA Memo on Ebola in Africa
File size: 383.41 KB | Downloads: 5 | Login to download