The Department of Higher Education has revoked the current designated list of subjects for the National Senior Certificate (NSC) and the Senior Certificate, as amended.

All 20 credit-bearing subjects offered as part of the NSC now have equal status. The minimum admission requirement for a Bachelor degree programme remains the same. Adequate achievement in at least four 20-credit NSC subjects enables the candidate to qualify for admission to a Bachelor degree programme.

The revocation of the designated list came into effect from 1 October 2018 and will be applicable to candidates registered for the 2018 and subsequent NSC examinations. The revocation of the designated list does not apply retrospectively.

Grade 9 learners who will be selecting NSC subjects for Grade 10 in 2019 should be apprised of this revised dispensation.

Download a memorandum from the ISASA Policy Unit for additional information:

Revocation Designated List of Subjects
File size: 26.00 KB | Downloads: 8 | Login to download